Rennet in Boca Burgers? (or not)

20 Feb

Slightly off the typical pizza subject, I wanted to share an update on the use of animal based rennet in Boca Burgers. Specifically, we contacted the company to see if Boca’s All American Burger (which has cheese listed as an ingredient along with “enzymes”) uses animal based rennet.

While we did not get a response from our email inquiry on the website, I spoke with Alice on the customer service line. She confirmed that all Boca Burgers, were made with non-animal based rennet except for the Grilled Vegetable Burger.

This confirms a veggie board post we found here.

So, fellow rennet-free readers, enjoy your cheesy Boca Burgers!

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Rennet in Boca Burgers? (or not)”

  1. Abraham May 25, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

    Thanks a lot.. I was looking for that.

  2. Tricia Kawi July 8, 2015 at 10:26 pm #

    I called a few months ago and was also told the Boca burgers with cheese are vegetarian, not containing rennet or animal enzymes. I am still concerned to see that the company would not provide this information to me in writing and now I see that was the case with your inquiry as well. I would think if truly vegetarian as they say, they would be willing to put that in writing. I will continue to proceed with caution since the company seems very careful not to put the vegetarian claim in writing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: